WAPCA

The Guinean rainforest is one of Africa’s most diverse ecosystems. Stretching from Guinea to Cameroon, it contains more than a quarter of African mammals, including about 20 primate species. Today it has dwindled to 15% of its original size and faces constant pressure from deforestation for logging purposes, the expansion of farmland and mining, and the bush-meat trade.
 
WAPCA[1], set up by several European zoos, works to conserve the endangered primates of Ghana and the Ivory Coast, especially Roloway’s monkeys (Cercopithecus roloway), which are classed among the world’s 25 most endangered primates, the Miss Waldron’s Bay colobus (Procolobus badius waldroni, in critical danger and perhaps even extinct) and the white-naped mangabey (Cercocebus atys lunulatus, endangered). 

WAPCA Ghana works in different spheres:
– regular surveys of the forest to assess primate population numbers
– the training of local communities and staff from the Wildlife Division of the Forestry Commission of Ghana in observing primates, gathering data and opposing hunting
– the organising of educational campaigns for both schoolchildren and adults (especially village chiefs).
 
At the same time as its in situ activities, WAPCA Ghana has established the Endangered Primate Centre in Accra, the country’s capital, which it co-directs with Wildlife Division of Ghana. Orphaned Roloway’s monkeys and white-naped mangabeys that have been confiscated from hunters are housed in the centre and included in the European Endangered Species Programmes (EEP) for the species in order to maintain an overall healthy captive population that may provide individuals for reintroduction into secure reserves in future.
 
Meanwhile, WAPCA Ivory Coast has explored several of the country’s forests to locate populations of these species and define priority conservation zones. This research revealed that the (unprotected) Tanoé Swamp Forest, in the far south of the Ivory Coast on the border with Ghana, still had mangabey and Roloway’s monkey populations. WAPCA Ivory Coast created a community-based management committe to preserve this crucial area and organise regular awareness campaigns in villages in the region. Today, WAPCA Ivory Coast and WAPCA Ghana are developing a cross-border conservation program linking the Tanoé Swamp Forest on one side with Ghana’s Kwabre Reserve on the other (the two sites are only separated by a river).
 
The Zoo de La Palmyre has helped finance WAPCA since 2001.
 
Website:
www.wapca.org
www.rasapci.org
 
 
[1]West African Primate Conservation Action.
 
Credits: WAPCA Côte d'Ivoire, WAPCA Ghana.

WAPCA

La forêt pluviale guinéenne est l'un des écosystèmes les plus diversifiés d'Afrique. S'étirant de la Guinée au Cameroun, elle abrite près d'un quart des mammifères africains, dont une vingtaine d'espèces de primates. Aujourd'hui elle ne s'étend plus que sur 15% de sa surface originelle et doit faire face à des pressions constantes : déforestation pour l'exploitation du bois, au profit de l'expansion de l'agriculture ou de l'exploitation minière, chasse pour la viande de brousse.
 
L'association WAPCA[1], créée à l'initiative de plusieurs zoos européens, vise à conserver les primates menacés du Ghana et de Côte d'Ivoire, en particulier le cercopithèque Roloway (Cercopithecus roloway) classé sur la liste des 25 primates les plus menacés au monde, le colobe de Miss Waldron (Procolobus badius waldroni, en danger critique d'extinction, peut-être éteint) ainsi que le cercocèbe couronné (Cercocebus atys lunulatus, en danger). 

WAPCA Ghana agit dans différents domaines :
- prospections régulières en forêt afin d'évaluer le niveau des populations de primates,
- formation des communautés locales et du personnel de la Division Faune Sauvage de la Commission Forestière du Ghana au suivi des primates, à la collecte de données et à la lutte anti-braconnage,
- organisation de campagnes d'éducation à destination des écoliers mais aussi des adultes (et notamment les chefs de village).

Parallèlement à ses activités de terrain WAPCA Ghana a établi un Centre pour primates menacés[2] à Accra, la capitale du pays, qu'elle co-dirige avec la Division Faune Sauvage du Ghana. Les cercopithèques Roloway et les cercocèbes couronnés orphelins confisqués aux particuliers sont hébergés au sein du centre et sont désormais inclus dans les Programmes Européens d'Elevage[3] des deux espèces afin de maintenir une population captive globale saine, susceptible de fournir à l'avenir des individus pour des réintroductions dans des réserves sécurisées.
 
De son côté, WAPCA Côte d'Ivoire a exploré plusieurs forêts du pays afin d'identifier les zones abritant encore ces espèces et de définir les sites prioritaires pour leur conservation. Ces recherches ont permis de montrer que la forêt des marais Tanoé (non protégée) située à l'extrême sud de la Côte d'Ivoire à la frontière avec le Ghana, abritait encore des populations de cercocèbes et de cercopithèques. WAPCA Côte d'Ivoire est à l'origine de la création d'un comité de gestion communautaire chargé de préserver cette zone essentielle et organise régulièrement des campagnes de sensibilisation dans les villages de la région. Aujourd'hui, WAPCA Côte d'Ivoire et WAPCA Ghana travaillent au développement d'un programme de conservation transfrontalier réunissant la Forêt des Marais Tanoé d'un côté et la Réserve de Kwabre située au Ghana de l'autre, les deux sites n'étant séparés que par une rivière.
 
Le Zoo de La Palmyre est impliqué dans le financement du programme WAPCA depuis 2001.
 
Sites internet :
www.wapca.org
www.rasapci.org
 
 
[1]West African Primate Conservation Action.
[2]Endangered Primate Centre.
[3]EEP.

 
Crédits photos : WAPCA Côte d'Ivoire, WAPCA Ghana.