Proyecto Tití

Endemic to north-west Colombia, cotton-top tamarins (Saguinus oedipus) are endangered by the destruction of their habitat and being hunted for the illegal pet trade. Most of the forests encompassing the species’ range have been destroyed in favour of farming or breeding land. The few remaining parcels of forest house less than 6,000 tamarins. 

Since 1985 the Proyecto Tití[1] has developed a multidisciplinary conservation program combining on-the-ground research, educational campaigns and community projects aiming to protect this little primate classed as critically endangered on the IUCN’s Red List.
 
- Research
The program has studied the species at Colosó and Santa Catalina for many years. Several regular cotton-top tamarin groups there are regularly tracked by researchers thanks to dye-marking techniques and to radio transmitters attached to the dominant male in each group. This process has already enabled the collection of a great deal of data on behaviour, feeding, breeding and rearing of the young.

- Education
Local conservation clubs have been created to engage children and teenagers with cotton-top tamarin protection. By taking part in fun activities, they become familiar with the concept of recycling, learn to avoid waste and become ambassadors for cotton-top tamarin conservation in their communities. The programme also collaborates with Baranquilla Zoo to make its visitors aware of the problem of illegal hunting. 

- Community development
The Proyecto Tití has endowed local communities with food-cooking techniques that use less wood in order to reduce their impact on the forest. It also supports a recycling project: a local women’s cooperative collects plastic bags and turns them into pretty, colourful traditional bags, which it sells. This is a way of limiting the number of plastic bags in the environment and of creating an alternative revenue source for local communities.
 
The Zoo de La Palmyre has been a member of the Cotton-top Tamarin Conservation Club since 2010.
 
Website: www.proyectotiti.com
 
 
[1]Tití Project.
 
Credits: © L. Hoffner, C. Holguin, F. Perroux, Proyecto Tití.

Proyecto Tití

Endémique au nord-ouest de la Colombie, le pinché (Saguinus oedipus) fait face à la destruction de son habitat et au braconnage pour le commerce illégal des animaux de compagnie. La plupart des forêts englobant l'aire de répartition de l'espèce ont été détruites au profit de l'agriculture ou de l'élevage. Les quelques parcelles restantes abritent moins de 6000 individus. 

Depuis 1985, le Proyecto Tití[1] a développé un programme de conservation multidisciplinaire qui combine recherches sur le terrain, campagnes d'éducation et projets communautaires dans le but de protéger ce petit primate classé en danger critique d'extinction sur la Liste Rouge de l'UICN.
 
- Recherche
Le programme étudie l'espèce sur les sites de Colosó et Santa Catalina depuis de nombreuses années. Plusieurs groupes de pinchés ont été habitués et sont régulièrement suivis par les chercheurs grâce à des techniques de marquage par teinture et à des émetteurs radios fixés sur les mâles dominants de chaque groupe. Ce processus a déjà permis de récolter de nombreuses données sur le comportement, l'alimentation, la reproduction ou encore l'élevage des jeunes.

- Education
Des clubs de conservation locaux ont été créés afin d'engager les enfants et les adolescents dans la protection des pinchés. En participant à des activités ludiques, ils se familiarisent avec la notion de recyclage, apprennent à éviter le gaspillage et deviennent des ambassadeurs de la conservation des pinchés au sein de leur communauté. Le programme travaille également en collaboration avec le Zoo de Baranquilla pour sensibiliser ses visiteurs au problème des captures illégales.

- Développement communautaire
Le Proyecto Tití met à la disposition des communautés locales des techniques de cuisson de la nourriture moins consommatrices en bois afin de réduire leur impact sur la forêt. Il soutient également une activité de recyclage : une coopérative de femmes collecte les sacs plastiques puis les transforme en jolis sacs traditionnels colorés avant de les vendre. Un moyen de limiter la prolifération des sacs plastiques dans l'environnement et de créer une source alternative de revenus pour les communautés locales.
 
Le Zoo de La Palmyre est membre du Club de Conservation des Pinchés depuis 2010.
 
Site internet : www.proyectotiti.com
 
 
[1]Projet Tití.

Crédits photos : © L. Hoffner, C. Holguin, F. Perroux, Proyecto Tití.