Painted Dog Research Trust

African wild dogs (Lycaon pictus), also called painted wolves, are yet little known by the public. Listed as “endangered” on the IUCN Red List, they are among the rarest mammals in Africa.
 
The species is threatened by habitat fragmentation that increases conflicts with humans and especially shepherds. It is victim of snares, of collisions with vehicles, of poisoning, of infectious diseases transmitted by domestic dogs. Sub-populations with just a few dozen of individuals are particularly vulnerable in case of epidemics.
 
Formerly widespread in sub-Saharan Africa, painted dogs have now almost entirely disappeared from west and central Africa. Largest populations live in Bostwana, Tanzania and Zimbabwe. In this last country, the Painted Dog Research Trust, based near Victoria Falls, aims to conserve the species in an area that is home to about 350 individuals (50% of the Zimbabwean population).
 
The PDRT activities encompasses a holistic approach with several components:
- Research: African wild dogs are fitted with radio collars in order to study their movements, the way they use their habitat, their density, the population genetics… The aim is to develop models allowing future land use plans to be compatible with painted dog conservation.
- Direct conservation: the PDRT assists and rehabilitate injured painted dogs. It fights actively against poaching by putting anti-snare collars on painted dogs and by logistically assisting local initiatives through expertise or equipment.
- Education and capacity-building: primary and secondary schools in the project area, local communities and tourists are sensitized about the plight and the ecology of painted dogs. Members of local communities are involved in research activities and the construction of a conservation ecology center is planned.
- Community development: assistance with schooling, assistance with water supply…
 

La Palmyre Zoo supports the Painted Dog Research Trust since 2015.
 
Website: www.painteddogresearchtrust-usa.org

Painted Dog Research Trust

Les lycaons (Lycaon pictus), appelés aussi loups peints, sont des animaux méconnus du grand public. Classé « en danger » sur la Liste Rouge de l’UICN, ils comptent parmi les plus rares mammifères du continent africain.
 
L’espèce est menacée par la fragmentation de son habitat qui engendre des conflits de plus en plus fréquents avec l’homme, et notamment les éleveurs. Elle est victime de pièges, de collisions avec des véhicules, d’empoisonnement, de maladies transmises par les chiens domestiques. Les sous-populations composées d’à peine quelques dizaines d’individus sont particulièrement vulnérables en cas d’épidémie.
 
Autrefois largement répandus en Afrique sub-saharienne, les lycaons ont aujourd’hui quasiment disparu d’Afrique de l’ouest et centrale. Les populations les plus importantes évoluent au Bostwana, en Tanzanie et au Zimbabwe. Dans ce dernier pays, le Painted Dog Research Trust, basé près des chutes Victoria, s’est donné pour mission de préserver l’espèce sur une zone abritant près de 350 individus, soit plus de 50% de la population totale du Zimbabwe.
 
L’action du PDRT s’organise autour de plusieurs composantes.
- Recherche : le PDRT équipe certains lycaons de colliers satellites afin d’étudier leurs mouvements, la façon dont ils utilisent leur habitat, leur densité ou encore la génétique de la population. L’objectif est de développer des modèles permettant de rendre compatible l’aménagement et l’utilisation des terres avec la conservation des lycaons.
- Conservation directe : le PDRT prend en charge et soigne les lycaons blessés. Il lutte aussi activement contre le braconnage en équipant les lycaons de colliers anti-pièges et en assistant logistiquement les initiatives locales grâce à son expertise ou en fournissant des équipements.
- Education, formation et développement des compétences : les écoles primaires et secondaires de la zone du projet, les communautés locales et les touristes sont sensibilisés. Les membres des communauté locales sont impliqués dans les activités de recherche et la construction d’un centre d’écologie de la conservation est en projet.
- Développement communautaire : aide à la scolarisation, aide à la distribution d’eau…
 

Le Zoo de La Palmyre soutient le Painted Dog Research Trust depuis 2015.
 
Site web : www.painteddogresearchtrust-usa.org