Helpsimus

The greater bamboo lemur (Prolemur simus) is one of Madagascar’s most endangered lemurs. In 2009 the AFSGH[1], also known as Helpsimus, was established to try to safeguard the 1,000 specimens remaining in a few fragments of the rainforest in the east of the island. 
 
The organisation’s aim is twofold: to raise funds for greater bamboo lemur conservation in Madagascar and to increase public awareness of this lemur that is rarely seen in European zoos (the breeding program involves only about 30 individuals) and that has a highly specialised diet composed almost exclusively of bamboos, which it eats in their entirety (leaves, stalks, shoots…)

Since 2012, the Zoo de La Palmyre has been supporting Helpsimus by financing its “Bamboo Lemur” program whose activities are focused near Ranomafana National Park located in the province of Fianarantsoa, southeast of Madagascar.

Helpsimus works with fifteen villages around which lives about ¼ of the wild population of greater bamboo lemurs (250 animals), in an environment severely damaged by slash-and-burn agriculture and not protected since it is located outside the national park protection area.

Helpsimus’ activities are organized around three main axes:
- an environmental component that seeks to identify the main conservation areas and to find a balance between the lemurs and humans’ needs;
- an educational component that develops awareness activities for local communities and facilitates access to education for the children;
- an economic component whose objective is to improve people’s living conditions by building infrastructures, creating alternative sources of income and by encouraging better hygiene practices.
 
The Bamboo Lemur program now employs 20 guides from the local communities. They are responsible for monitoring the greater bamboo lemur groups and for assisting scientists during their study work. A team of educators is also tasked with organizing environmental education activities for school children and villagers living in the program area. Helpsimus also funds the construction of schools and classrooms, the creation of a school canteen as well as supplies and schoolbooks for more than 600 children. Finally, small-scale development projects are implemented: improvement of rice yields, fish farming and crop storage help, creation of tree nurseries and reforestation…

Website: www.helpsimus.org
[1]Association Française pour la Sauvegarde du Grand Hapalémur.

  Photo credits: © F. Perroux, S. Meys.

Helpsimus

Le grand hapalémur (Prolemur simus) est l'un des lémuriens les plus menacés de Madagascar. C’est pour tenter de sauvegarder les 1000 individus encore présents dans quelques fragments de forêt humide de l’est de l'île qu’a été créée en 2009 l’AFSGH[1] également appelée Helpsimus.

L'objectif de l'association est double : lever des fonds pour financer la conservation des grands hapalémurs à Madagascar et faire connaître au grand public ce lémurien peu représenté dans les parcs zoologiques européens (le programme d’élevage ne compte qu'une trentaine d'individus), à l’alimentation très spécialisée puisque composée quasi exclusivement de bambous dont il affectionne toutes les parties (feuilles, tiges, pousses…).
 
Depuis 2012, le Zoo de La Palmyre apporte son soutien à Helpsimus en finançant notamment son programme « Bamboo Lemur » dont les activités se concentrent à proximité du Parc National de Ranomafana situé dans la province de Fianarantsoa au sud-est de Madagascar.
 
Helpsimus travaille en collaboration avec une quinzaine de villages autour desquels vit près d’un quart de la population sauvage de grands hapalémurs (250 animaux), dans un environnement extrêmement dégradé par la pratique du « tavy » (culture sur brûlis) et non préservé puisque situé en dehors de la zone de protection du parc national.

Les activités d’Helpsimus s’organisent autour de 3 axes principaux :
- un volet environnemental qui cherche à définir les zones de conservation prioritaires et à trouver un équilibre entre les besoins des lémuriens et ceux des hommes qui vivent à leurs côtés ;
- un volet pédagogique qui développe des actions de sensibilisation auprès des communautés locales et facilite l’accès à l’éducation des enfants ;
- un volet économique dont l’objectif est d’améliorer les conditions de vie des populations en créant des infrastructures, des sources de revenus alternatives et en les sensibilisant à de meilleures pratiques en matière d’hygiène.

Le programme « Bamboo Lemur » emploie aujourd’hui 20 guides issus des communautés locales. Ils sont chargés de suivre les groupes de grands hapalémurs et d’encadrer les scientifiques venus étudier leur comportement. Une équipe d’éducateurs a également pour mission d’organiser les activités d’éducation environnementale auprès des écoliers et des villageois de la zone d’action du programme. Helpsimus finance par ailleurs la construction et la rénovation d’écoles et de salles de classe, la mise en place d’une cantine scolaire ainsi que les fournitures et les livres pour plus de 600 enfants. Enfin, des microprojets d’aide au développement sont mis en place : amélioration du rendement des rizières, aide à la pisciculture et au stockage des récoltes, création de pépinières et reboisement …

  •  

Site internet : www.helpsimus.org
[1]Association Française pour la Sauvegarde du Grand Hapalémur.

Crédit photos : © F. Perroux, S. Meys.