GERP

The red-ruffed lemur (Varecia rubra) is listed as «critically endangered» by the IUCN[1] and is also part of the 25 world’s most endangered primates[2]. Its geographical range is restricted to northeastern Madagascar, in the primary forests of Masoala peninsula and Antongil Bay. Highly threatened by deforestation, habitat fragmentation and poaching, its wild population is plummeting.
 
The European Breeding Program (EEP) for red-ruffed lemurs supports the creation of a breeding program in Madagascar (the species is being underrepresented in captivity) in order to produce individuals that may be introduced in the wild as part of a wild stock reinforcement program.
 
In this context, La Palmyre Zoo has given to the EEP a young male born in its facilities in 2014. He was transferred in August 2014 to the Malagasy park of Nosy Be along with a female born in Dublin Zoo.

Meanwhile, La Palmyre Zoo has started to fund the conservation program including preliminary studies regarding the likely future site of release: it may be the Farankaraina forest located in the heart of Antongil Bay. The area covers 1,540 hectares of primary forest among which 150 are now protected. These surveys should assess the density and the distribution of lemurs and other species living on site, the structure and quality of the habitat, the food resources availability…
 
The aims of the program are:
- to improve the management of the captive population of red-ruffed lemurs in Europe (that gathers more than 350 individuals) by creating an ex situ program in Madagascar;
- to long-term conserve one of the most endangered primate in the world by strengthening its wild numbers.

Partners of the project are the EEP of the red-ruffed lemur and the GERP ((Groupe d’Etude et de Recherche sur les Primates de Madagascar).
 
Photo credit: © F. Perroux/Zoo de La Palmyre

[1] International Union for Conservation of Nature

[2] https://portals.iucn.org/library/sites/library/files/documents/2015-033.pdf

GERP

Le maki vari roux (Varecia rubra) est classé «en danger critique d’extinction» par l’UICN[1] et figure également sur la liste des 25 primates les plus menacés au monde[2]. Son aire de répartition est circonscrite au nord-est de Madagascar, dans les forêts primaires de la péninsule de Masoala et de la baie d’Antongil. Extrêmement menacé par la déforestation, la fragmentation de son habitat et le braconnage, ses effectifs sauvages sont en chute libre.
 
Le Programme Européen d’Elevage (EEP) de cette espèce soutient la création d’un programme d’élevage à Madagascar (l’espèce y étant sous-représentée en captivité) en vue de fournir des individus susceptibles d’être réintroduits en milieu naturel dans le cadre du renforcement de la population sauvage.
 
Dans ce cadre, le Zoo de La Palmyre a fait don à l’EEP d’un jeune mâle vari roux né dans son établissement en 2014. Celui-ci a été transféré en août 2016 vers le parc malgache de Lemuria Land à Nosy Be, en compagnie d’une femelle née au Zoo de Dublin.
Parallèlement, le Zoo de La Palmyre a démarré en 2016 le financement du programme de conservation et notamment des études préliminaires concernant le futur probable site de relâché : il s’agit de la forêt de Farankaraina située au cœur de la baie d’Antongil. L’endroit couvre 1540 hectares dont 150 sont aujourd’hui protégés. Ces études doivent notamment évaluer la densité et la distribution des lémuriens et autres espèces animales présentes sur le site, la structure et la qualité de l’habitat, la disponibilité des ressources alimentaires…
 
L’objectif du programme est double :
- améliorer la gestion de la population captive de varis roux en Europe (qui compte plus de 350 individus) en créant un programme ex situ à Madagascar
- conserver à long terme une espèce comptant parmi les plus rares du monde en renforçant à terme ses effectifs sauvages.
 
Les partenaires de ce projet sont l’EEP des varis roux et le GERP (Groupe d’Etude et de Recherche sur les Primates de Madagascar).
 
Crédit photo : © F. Perroux/Zoo de La Palmyre, GERP.

[1] Union Internationale pour la Conservation de la Nature.

[2] https://portals.iucn.org/library/sites/library/files/documents/2015-033.pdf