Ebo Forest Research Project

 
Found in 6 African countries (Angola, Gabon, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Congo and Equatorial Guinea), western lowland gorillas (Gorilla gorilla gorilla) are estimated to total less than 150,000 in number. Classed as critically endangered on the IUCN’s Red List, the species is a victim of habitat destruction, being hunted for its meat and the illegal trade in its young, diseases caused by living in ever-greater proximity with humans, and armed conflicts that interfere with the enforcement of conservation laws in its range.
 
After the discovery of a small gorilla population in 2002 in the Ebo Forest (Cameroon), two research stations were established on site. More than a dozen threatened species of primates have been identified and are monitored since then.
 
The gorilla discovered population is geographically intermediate between 2 distinct populations of western gorillas: western lowland gorillas (Gorilla gorilla gorilla) living in Gabon, Equatorial Guinea, Congo-Brazzaville, Central African Republic and south of Sanaga river in Cameroon, and Cross river gorillas (Gorilla gorilla diehli) living on the Cameroon-Nigeria border. The Ebo Forest gorilla taxonomy is not know yet and genetic studies are in progress in order to determine to which subspecies they belong.
 
A special attention is given to the sensitization and the education of the 19 local communities living on the edge of the Ebo Forest. The program established the Club des Amis des Gorilles (Gorilla Guardian Club) responsible for raising awareness among students, hunters and traditional authorities., in order to involve all the local stakeholders in the conservation of their forest and their wildlife.

 Photo credit: D. Mfossa Mbouombouo/Ebo Forest Research Project.

Ebo Forest Research Project

Répartie dans 6 pays d'Afrique (Angola, Gabon, Cameroun, République Centrafricaine, Congo, Guinée Equatoriale), la population globale de gorilles des plaines de l'Ouest (Gorilla gorilla gorilla) est estimée à moins de 150 000 individus. Classée en danger critique sur la Liste Rouge de l'UICN, l'espèce est victime de la destruction de son habitat, du braconnage pour sa viande ou le commerce illégal des jeunes, des maladies dues à la proximité de plus en plus grande avec les hommes et des conflits armés qui nuisent à l'application des lois de protection dans son aire de répartition.
 
A la suite de la découverte d'une petite population de gorilles dans la forêt d'Ebo au Cameroun en 2002, deux stations de recherche ont été installées sur le site.
Elles ont notamment permis l'identification de plus d'une dizaine d'espèces menacées de primates dont elles facilitent aujourd'hui l'étude et le suivi.
 
La population de gorilles découverte évolue dans une zone géographique intermédiaire entre 2 populations distinctes de gorilles occidentaux : ceux des plaines de l'Ouest (Gorilla gorilla gorilla) vivant au Gabon, en Guinée Equatoriale, au Congo-Brazzaville, en République Centre Africaine et au sud du fleuve Sanaga au Cameroun, et ceux de la rivière Cross (Gorilla gorilla diehli) évoluant à la frontière entre le Cameroun et le Nigéria. La taxonomie des gorilles d'Ebo n'est pas encore définie et des études génétiques sont en cours afin de déterminer à quelle sous-espèce ils appartiennent.
 
Une attention particulière est également portée à la sensibilisation et l'éducation des 19 communautés villageoises vivant en périphérie de la forêt d'Ebo. Le programme a notamment établi le Club des Amis des Gorilles (CAG), chargé d'organiser et d'animer les actions de sensibilisation auprès des écoliers, des chasseurs et des autorités traditionnelles. L'idée étant d'impliquer l'ensemble des acteurs locaux dans la conservation de leur forêt et de leur faune sauvage.

Crédit photos : Ebo Forest Research Project/D. Mfossa Mbouombouo.