AEECL

Classed among the world’s 25 most endangered primates, the blue-eyed lemur (Eulemur flavifrons) is a victim of deforestation (logging and ‘tavy’ or slash-and-burn agriculture are gradually destroying its habitat) and of being hunted and trapped for its meat and the illegal trade in the species. These lemurs also have a very small range (they live only in north-west Madagascar, on the Sahamalaza peninsula) and the overall population is highly fragmented.
 
Since 2002 the Zoo de La Palmyre has supported the work of the AEECL[1], most notably the creation of the Sahamalaza National Park in 2007.
 
The organisation studies blue-eyed lemur ecology and encourages the sustainable use of natural resources by the local population while also seeking to improve living conditions in communities surrounding the National Park.
 
The AEECL is active in several spheres:

– scientific research
The Ankarafa forest research station set up by the AEECL in the Sahamalaza National Park regularly welcomes university researchers specialising in the eco-ethology of blue-eyed lemurs and other lemur species in the area and in the different anthropogenic pressures they face.

– habitat and wildlife protection
Eco-wardens carry out regular surveillance patrols of the Ankarafa forest. Local communities help set up firewalls and participate in an annual reforestation program. 

– help with sustainable community development
The AEECL organises training sessions for tourist guides to the Sahamalaza National Park and surrounding region. It also builds bungalows to foster ecotourism on the site. Additionally, it supports local communities by building wells to facilitate access to drinking water, trains gardeners responsible for producing and raising trees that will be used for reforestation, and maintains ricefield drainage canals.

– education
The AEECL builds and finances schools in villages bordering the National Park and also regularly takes place in environmental events (national lemur festival, environment day, Malagasy national day…).
 
Website : www.aeecl.org
 
 
[1] Association Européenne pour l'Etude et la Conservation des Lémuriens.
 
Photo credit: Randriatahina, C. Schwitzer.

AEECL

Classé parmi les 25 primates les plus menacés au monde, le lémur aux yeux turquoise (Eulemur flavifrons) souffre de la déforestation (les coupes de bois et la pratique du "tavy" ou agriculture sur brûlis détruisent peu à peu son habitat), de la chasse et du piégeage pour sa viande et le commerce illégal des espèces. Ce lémurien possède en outre une aire de répartition très réduite (il est exclusivement présent au nord-ouest de l'île de Madagascar dans la péninsule de Sahamalaza), et sa population globale est extrêmement fragmentée.
 
Depuis 2002, le Zoo de Palmyre soutient l'action menée sur place par l'AEECL[1] qui a notamment conduit à la création du Parc National de Sahamalaza en 2007.
 
L'association étudie l’écologie des lémurs aux yeux turquoise et encourage une utilisation durable des ressources naturelles par la population locale, tout en cherchant à améliorer les conditions de vie des communautés vivant autour du Parc National.
 
L'AEECL agit dans plusieurs domaines :
 
Recherche scientifique
La station de recherche de la forêt d'Ankarafa créée par l'AEECL et située dans le Parc National de Sahamalaza accueille régulièrement des universitaires menant des études sur l'éco-éthologie des lémurs aux yeux turquoise et des autres espèces de lémuriens présentes dans la zone, ainsi que sur les différentes pressions anthropiques dont ils sont victimes.

Protection de l'habitat et de la faune
Des éco-gardes chargés de surveiller la forêt d'Ankarafa effectuent des patrouilles régulières. Les communautés locales participent à l'aménagement de pare-feux et à un programme annuel de reforestation.

Aide au développement communautaire durable
L'AEECL organise des sessions de formation pour des guides touristiques chargés de faire découvrir le Parc National de Sahamalaza et sa région. Elle travaille également à la construction de bungalows afin de développer l'écotourisme sur le site. D'autres actions en faveur des communautés locales sont menées : construction de puits pour faciliter l'accès à l'eau potable, formation de pépiniéristes chargés de produire et d'élever les essences qui serviront au reboisement, entretien des canaux de drainage des rizières...

Education
L'AEECL construit et finance les écoles des villages situés en bordure du Parc National, elle participe aussi régulièrement à des manifestations environnementales (fête nationale des lémuriens, journée de l'environnement, fête nationale malgache...).
 
Site internet : www.aeecl.org
 
 
[1]Association Européenne pour l'Etude et la Conservation des Lémuriens.
 
Crédits photos : Randriatahina, C. Schwitzer.